VASFAA Executive Committee 2021-2022

Ryan Dulude, CCV (President):
Marie Johnson, UVM (President-Elect)
Martha Hinchman, UVM (Treasurer):
Judy Buxton, UVM (Secretary):

President: Presides over all meetings of the Association and the Executive Committee and performs other duties that pertain to leading VASFAA as President. They are also a member of all committees and is the official voting representative of VASFAA to any regional or national association.
President-Elect: In the temporary absence or disability of the President, this person shall have the powers and perform all duties and responsibilities of the President. If there is not a President-Elect in office, these functions are performed by the Past-President until election of a President-Elect.
Treasurer: Responsible for disbursement and receivables for VASFAA under policies approved by the Executive Committee and is responsible for keeping record of receipts and disbursements. The Treasurer should also be prepared to submit a financial report at each regular Association meeting. The Treasurer may be bonded at the expense of VASFAA, the amount to be designated by the Executive Committee.
Treasurer-Elect: Shall perform duties of the Treasurer in the event the Treasurer is unable to serve and performs duties as assigned by the President.
Secretary: Responsible for developing, distributing, and maintaining the non-financial records of the Association. This person also assumes responsibility for maintaining VASFAA's P&P Manual, administering the election of officers and any other voting requirements, and works closely with the President in planning VASFAA Business & Executive Meetings.


VASFAA Committees for 2020-2021

Website Committee

(Send web updates to
Lynda Ossola, UVM
Ryan Gates, UVM

Website Committee: Responsible for the upkeep of the VASFAA website and monitoring the web email inbox for requests. Common updates include: yearly committee updates, meeting minutes, conference and event updates, and job board updates. This committee also works with the VASFAA website provider for updates to forms.


Training Committee

No current members

Training Committee: Enhances the professional development of the membership by recommending and soliciting training tops and sees them through to implementation.


Government Relations Committee 

Ryan Dulude, CCV

Government Relations Committee: Monitors and influences government financial aid activities; informs and educates our membership; and keeps the Vermont delegation aware of issues affecting our students and campuses.


Conference Committee

(contact at
Chris Barry, VSAC (co-chair)
Lisa Talbot, Sallie-Mae (co-chair)
Jeani Stella-Devani, VTC (co-chair)
Marilyn Cargill, VSAC
Martha Hinchman, UVM
Ryan Gates, UVM
Linda Thatcher, VSAC
Lynda Ossola, UVM

Conference Committee: Plans the annual summer conference, which includes financial aid updates, trainings, and professional development opportunities. Monitors the conference email inbox and works closely with the Website Committee for conference page updates.


Constitution and Bylaws

Greg Davis, Champlain College (Committee Chair)
Matthew Desorgher, UVM
Marcia Corey, VSAC
Ryan Dulude, CCV
Tanner Matchus, CCV
Sarah Harris, Norwich
Jodi Sibley, Norwich

Bylaws Committee: Reviews both the bylaws and Association activities annually to confirm that the Association is acting with the bylaws. The committee also recommends changes to bylaws, as needed.


Strategic Planning Committee

Executive Committee members


Thank you to every individual member for your time and dedication to this organization, your own individual institutions, and every student you help each and every day.  Please email Ryan Dulude if you would like to become more involved with VASFAA.